rockonflash.com home

hey all, I just wanted to let everyone know that if you’re looking for demo files/videos/etc rom rockonflash or some of my links are broken, that’s because I’m trying to locate a new home for rockonflash.com url.

If anyone has a good provider suggestion, I’d love to hear about it.

also, i’ve been really busy with a current project I mentioned in an earlier post and that’s been going very well.  The great part is that while I have put in some extra hours here and there, I haven’t been burning the midnight oil so that’s good.  I’ve been able to stay on track without killing myself and that’s been huge.  Still, I *have* been exclusively putting my time and energy into that one project, so some others have really taken a back seat for now.

Anyway, please forgive the broken URL’s I’ll get them fixed as soon as I can.

In a bit of goodnews, I DID find time to model a new low poly xwing, and since I’d been using the other one for the past 3 yrs in all my demo’s here, I wanted to show you guys the results of the new one:

”][ New and original low poly xwings ]

Like is says in the image, this new one is nearly 400 polys smaller, the texturing is much much better and the model altogether is much closer to an actual XWing (… if one actually existed😉 )

I just want to say thanks to the wolfpack for a great texture and hi poly xwing reference!

    • leef
    • July 6th, 2009

    How about hosting your own site with MAMP (or WAMP/LAMP), and dyndns, running on a separate OS-user account than your workspace account?

    • nah, I don’t want to host the server or anything. I want the provider to be on the hook for backups, redundancy, uptime, upgrades etc😉

  1. I’m a big fan of dreamhost. You can have your own private virtual server if you care but the shared hosting is very reasonable and they have great clean tools. I came from gocrapdaddy and it was a breath of fresh air.

  2. I use mediatemple and love it. But if you only need to host one domain, you get a lot of bang for your buck with hostrocket.

    • chef
    • July 8th, 2009

    where´s R2D2?

    • yeah R2 is baked into the texture for now ;( I need to spend some time with it to see if I can get a good lowpoly looking half dome without taking the poly’s up a ton

    • John
    • July 8th, 2009

    I know a ton of people swear by MediaTemple (http://www.mediatemple.net/). In the past, when looking for a VPS, I’ve read WebHostingTalk forums for reviews and even hosting discounts. http://www.webhostingtalk.com/

  3. Been with MT for many years and always happy with them.

  4. Hi John, you could save yourself some work by using my mesh decimation algorithm : )
    http://blog.teleranek.org/?p=11
    and… http://exp.teleranek.org/teleqem

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

