Xray update: FLEX CHANGES – please read

Thanks to Andy needing some help on a project, I was able to spend some quality time on Xray to fix a bug and enhance it to work with rawChildren containers in flex.  Above is a picture of the contents of rawChildren object in flex and a Papervision3D BasicView object highlighted.  I’m able to go from that point into the BasicView and see all the Papervision3D goodness😉

I had to rework a few things to accomodate rawChildren types of objects, but in doing so, I made it more modular so to speak, in terms of the underlying code.  It’s been a struggle to not have to create copies of code that do nearly the same thing with slight tweaks for Flex.  So far so good.

NOTE:  I’ve finally changed the package and name of Flex2Xray.  I’ve basically dropped the “2” in the folder name and the class.

So now we have:

com.blitzagency.xray.inspector.flex.FlexXray;
var xray:FlexXray = new FlexXray();

again, with the flex version, you don’t have to add it to stage since it has access to the Application object.

  1. How bout FlexRay🙂

    I’m having some issues on linux , no doubt because I’m using linux😦

    I got the latest svn revision today of Xray, but I was getting a segmentation fault error when running the Xray.swf gui. So I thought I’d try building it from source. Mxmlc complained that it couldn’t find the roguedevelopment logViewer, so I found that swc, and added it to my path. Now all I got is a few CSS warning but the .swf compiled. Howevr when I run it I get the glorious error below:

    An ActionScript error has occurred:
    ArgumentError: Error #1063: Argument count mismatch on mx.binding::PropertyWatcher(). Expected 3, got 2.
    at _com_roguedevelopment_logviewer_LogViewerToolBarWatcherSetupUtil/setup()
    at com.roguedevelopment.logviewer::LogViewerToolBar/initialize()
    at mx.core::UIComponent/http://www.adobe.com/2006/flex/mx/internal::childAdded()
    at mx.core::Container/http://www.adobe.com/2006/flex/mx/internal::childAdded()
    at mx.core::Container/addChildAt()
    at mx.core::Container/addChild()
    at com.roguedevelopment.logviewer::LogViewer/init()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEventFunction()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEvent()
    at mx.core::UIComponent/dispatchEvent()
    at mx.core::UIComponent/set initialized()
    at mx.managers::LayoutManager/doPhasedInstantiation()
    at Function/http://adobe.com/AS3/2006/builtin::apply()
    at mx.core::UIComponent/callLaterDispatcher2()
    at mx.core::UIComponent/callLaterDispatcher()

    I tried with the Flex 3 SDK & flash 9 player and Flex 4 w/ flash 10 player. Same error. When running in a browser, it just hangs.

    So I’m wondering if the LogViewer .swc is not the right version? is there an updated version of it or would I be able to get some fresh source for that too? It looks like a binding error which seems suspicious that it may be a versioning issue.

    I would very much like to get Xray working on linux as it one of the few visual inspection tools besides the FlexBuilder. So any help would be appreciated

    thx

    Dave

  2. dude, nevermind. It works now😀. I just clicked ‘continue’ after that error popped up and it doesn’t seem to matter, as far as I can tell.

  3. This rocks. Thanks John.

    • Phil
    • February 4th, 2009

    Any plans to update the xray package on osflash?🙂

    • No, it’s hosted on google code and I do believe that Aral has deleted the OSFlash SVN repo’s.

    • John Mark Hawley
    • June 16th, 2009

    What’s the URL of the latest source for X-ray? The google code repo shows no activity in 2009. (Or for the old front-end that used to be here — I’ve got things in the wild expecting that front-end to be available, and it looks like I need to get updating them to the latest Xray code.)

  4. What happened to the XRay interface…everything redirects here.

    • it’s back up, I had to move RockonFlash.com and there was some time where it was down😉

  1. November 7th, 2008

Leave a Reply

