Possibly the coolest Banner I’ve ever seen ;)

I’m not one for gushing over banners – let’s be honest: I run from them if anything😉

But I was visiting Hugh up at Organic in Toronto and he shows me this Papervision3D app that Stephan Tanguay was working on. It was for Jeep and it showed this great looking Jeep model rolling around on the country side from a top down view. Seriously, the model, the materials were awesome, then I noticed it was going up and down hills and valleys. Come to find out, Steven had used height maps to achieve this. VERY cool indeed, and compared to alot of 3D work i’ve seen I would have put this in the top 10 of visually excellent and well executed. On top of that, it has sound, a bird, and collision detection that works rather nicely if I do say so😉

Then Hugh tells me “hey, it’s a banner ad…” LOL, bald man say what?! this is a freakin banner ad? Geez sign me up – what’r they chargin for banner ads these days?? holy polygons batman.

Well, I think *maybe* it might indicate how accessible we’ve made 3D to Flash developers/designers around the globe. That or Stephan is a genius in hiding, toiling over the world’s banner ads as we speak.

Check it out: http://www.undergroundaward.com/Jeep3D/

  1. “LOL, bald man say what?” – that’s the funniest thing I’ve read all day.

  2. at least it’s better than “LOL, drunk man say what?” even though both are pretty indicative of to whom he’s referring.

  3. i think i just pee’d my pants laughing hahaha

    its a great banner

    • john
    • October 19th, 2008

    wow, small world. I built that model in Softimage XSI for Stephan last summer and a friend who did the audio recorded me driving my wrangler thru puddles and skidding to a stop on some dirt roads. It’s an optimized version of a larger one of 4000 polys that I had originally built for renders on another project. This one was pared down to 334 with all the textures baked together.

    here’s my little test scene I used to check out the final models.

    thanks for the kind words. it was fun to work on.

  4. wicked banner….got to meet the dude at organic…

  5. Pretty cool John, you go to see some actual sunshine via company coin. Your model and sound fx worked perfectly!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

