GIANT LETTER CREATOR – for all your code commenting happiness

[as]
GGGGG IIIIII AAA NN NN TTTTTT
GG II AAAAA NNN NN TT
GG GGG II AA AA NNNNNN TT
GG GG II AAAAAAA NN NNN TT
GGGGG IIIIII AA AA NN NN TT

LL EEEEEEE TTTTTT TTTTTT EEEEEEE RRRRR SSSSS
LL EE TT TT EE RR RR SS
LL EEEE TT TT EEEE RRRRR SSSS
LL EE TT TT EE RR RR SS
LLLLLLL EEEEEEE TT TT EEEEEEE RR RR SSSSS

RRRRR OOOO CCCCC KK KK
RR RR OO OO CC CC KK KK
RRRRR OO OO CC KKKK
RR RR OO OO CC CC KK KK
RR RR OOOO CCCCC KK KK

[/as]

Well, at several classes now, I’ve promised to upload this baby so people could use it and at FOTB I swore I’d do it that day! My treachery knows no bounds apparently.

OK so here it is! NOTE: it only does letters and spaces – no special characters, no numbers, just the 26 letters of the English alphabet and a space.

The story about this is that, when I first got involved with Papervision3D and looking at Carlos’ code, he had these HUGE comments in the code. At first I thought he was just having a helmet day, but I soon realized how genius these things were day in and day out. If you’re like me, your code is like a painting more than 1’s and 0’s – I like to organize it, make it look pretty. If it’s ugly, who wants to stare at it all day long?!? am I right??

So, one day I finally said “hey can I get that letter generator you use for your comments?” and Carlos’ then informs me he creates them by hand…OYE!! can you believe that?! Well, now we have the GiantLetterCreator🙂

Well these ginormous letters help you find your stuff very quickly and really help to make it idiot proof for the next person looking at your code. True, in the samples I’ve shown in class, the class was 200 lines of code, and nearly 70% of it was comments, but who cares. It helps🙂 and yeah I could use outline tools in FlexBuilder to navigate to other sections of my code, but that’s slow. Taking time to switch tabs, then sort, then scroll….bleh! big LETTERS rock.

Instructions: Type in your letters/spaces and hit enter. It’ll copy the text to your clipboard. Go paste your giant letter happiness.

[kml_flashembed movie=”http://www.acmewebworks.com/Downloads/GiantLetterCreator.swf” width=”550″ height=”300″/]
[ download the swf ]
  1. Cool! It will be nicer to copy the text to clipboard containing the carriage returns😀. Thanks.

  2. eeeeek

    Java style block comments seem to do the job perfectly well. Those big letters definately aren’t as readable due to the whitespace found in each letter.

  3. i love it! nice job. it would be cool to have options about what kind of comment to create with it, // or /*…

  4. … or

  5. haha, putting the opening tag of an HTML style comment ate the rest of my reply

  6. They work great when I’m teaching or speaking – nobody gets lost😉

    • Russ
    • November 16th, 2007

    TTTTTT HH HH IIIIII SSSSS RRRRR OOOO CCCCC KK KK SSSSS
    TT HH HH II SS RR RR OO OO CC CC KK KK SS
    TT HHHHHHH II SSSS RRRRR OO OO CC KKKK SSSS
    TT HH HH II SS RR RR OO OO CC CC KK KK SS
    TT HH HH IIIIII SSSSS RR RR OOOO CCCCC KK KK SSSSS

    • Russ
    • November 16th, 2007

    well almost…

  7. Hi John,

    This inspired me to use an old trick I had up my sleeve to achieve something similar, using any font and any character:

    http://www.sakri.net/blog/?p=20
    http://sakri.net/technology/flash/flex/huge_text/HugeText.html

    …excuse my poor taste and even more bankrupt sense of humor😉

    Cheers, sakri

  8. Must have: ,

  1. November 17th, 2007
  2. November 19th, 2007
  3. March 24th, 2011

Leave a Reply

