Flash on the beach Papervision3D demo: Earth, moon and a lunar module


Man, FOTB conference has been a HUGE massive success and the sessions have just been explosive. I just got back from Erik Natzke’s inspiration session and I have to say, I regret all the times I could have seen him speak and didn’t. It was incredible – to say I was inspired would be a tragic understatement. His work was just beautiful and putting that together with sound just reminded me of how much i’d ignored the other love in my love (music) with my flash work. Oh, and I nearly got run over by people rushing the stage for prints after his talk was over.

The papervision session on Monday was a really cool session for me. The people that came were very kind in their reactions to the demo’s and the room was actually filled (which was a surprise to me, but very cool indeed!). I covered the CS3 Component in pretty good detail as well as did a collada from the ground up demo that I’ve done a few times now.

I ended it off with a demo I created with PV3D 2.0 on the flight over from Houston. It’s using bumpmap and phong shading on the earth and moon with a little 1969 lunar module orbiting the moon preparing to land. It was alot of fun to put together and after we finally got the lights turned down in the room, people could actually see it up on screen🙂

Anyway, a BIG huge thank you to everyone who made it to the session – you guys were awesome and it made the trip very much worth the time and effort!

  1. Very neat case study!

    Why is the performance sluggish/choppy?

  2. This is neat! But doesn’t the Earth rotate in the opposite direction? The Sun rises in the east so California gets lights from the Nevada side first – in this rotation, sunrise is on the Pacific side! Also, the Moon’s rotation speed isn’t correct – your animation has it rotating so all side can be seen from Earth. But its in locked rotation so the farside always faces away from Earth.

  3. yeah I was just doing it for fun and with the limited time I had, I didn’t get too into those details😉 I did it on the plane

    • 3DRulez
    • November 7th, 2007

    That [b][i]totally[/i][/b] rocks the Flash world! [i]Any[/i] update on when 2.0 will be available? (mouse finger itching…)

    btw…another minor technical detail…that would be the Apollo command service module and not the lunar module.😉 Starfield would be a nice touch…yeah, I know, limited time!

  4. ah yeah but I was actually thinking of apollo 13 where they had to take the lem all the way around right? HAHA, that’ll teach me to do a demo 30,000 feet in the air with no internet access😉

  5. Chuck Wood is so right, and the 1969 lunar module’s 384 kilograms of octagonal magnesium framework was a much lighter shade of grey

    plus your missing the 4″ omni directional antenna and
    reflector antenna that were attached on the side generally oriented toward the sun for better signal

    both these factors would mean that your demonstration is slightly out by a few degrees, 223/71

  6. Hi John – thanks for the great FOTB session. Already getting some PV3D 2.0 jobs on the strength of your demos. Hope to see you next year!

  7. @simon: OYE! ok, next time I do a demo, I’ll do some research first!!

  8. @jonathan: glad you liked it! It was a great session, I really enjoyed it as well

  9. It was very cool to meet you and I love how laid back and easy to chat with you are. Thanks for the great session John!

  10. Thanks man, yeah it was very cool to meet you there and everyone else! nice when you can chat with people face to face doing this type of work. If you think about it, it’s pretty rare until you get to a conference like this🙂

  11. Very cool! I’m just dipping my toes into PV3D. Can’t wait to play with the new shaders.

    Can I ask you where you got your earth map? All the ones I’ve found are based on NASA imagery that have a lot of highlights and reflections in the ocean area. I’ve been trying to find one with smoothed out water like the one you have in your demo. Or is that a side-effect of the bumpmapping?

  12. @ramin: I’d have to ask Ralph Hauwert where he got it, but I’ve seen this same map on earth mapping sites. This is where i found the moon maps:

    http://planetpixelemporium.com/earth.html

  1. November 29th, 2007
  2. October 7th, 2008

Leave a Reply

