I need a mac book pro.

MBP - 15

After talking with Chris Allen forever about it, I again approached the idea and got some great feedback from some PC converts like Tink and Keith.

I was really excited, picked out my MBP and…found out I can’t buy if for another 3-4 months and even then, it’s not looking good. I sold my original G4 mac to pay taxes way back when. I knew I’d never get it back!

My poor wife, she does a great job at managing our finances, so I don’t even mess with it – if she says we can’t do it, then I listen.

I was going to wait it out for a while longer. Then I got a bug report on the Papervision3D component involving it running on OSX – ugh!! When I was teaching in LA, John Olson was cool enough to let me borrow his mac at the hotel to fix bugs for the next day for the class – he truly saved me on that one. And I think at that moment, I knew I had to seriously consider getting one.

So, I figured, why not start the “get John a Mac Book Pro” initiative. Someone had started a similar initiative for Nicolas Cannasse a while back and that rocked to see people rally around to make that happen! So, I thought why not try it again? If any of the projects that I’ve worked on have helped out, maybe this could happen sooner rather than later? Maybe Xray saved you some time? Or maybe, Papervision3D’s your new crack habit? Or maybe Red5 made you’re guitar sing midi to flash?

To be specific: This is what I’m hoping for:

Specifications
Mac Book Pro 15" -
* 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
* 160GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
* SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
* MacBook Pro 15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
* MagSafe Airline Adapter
* Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English

Bottom line is: I need $2708.00 plus tax for a grand total of $2941.41 to get the configuration above. Any and all help is MUCH appreciated.

  1. Dude. You got my dollar, but it can’t be for nought.
    So tell me, where would you like my “sponsored by” moo sticker on your Macbook? Mwuahahar // EP

  2. Thanks very much Eric!

  3. Booyah! From one baller to another…

  4. Big fan of your work John – sent ya a few bucks. Good luck!

  5. Dood, thanks man! I really appreciate that Robert!

    \m/

  6. Done : )

    There’re people out there that truly deserve it. Nicolas was one of them, hell yeah, you’re another one.

    Thanks to you for your work and sharing!

    • Ali Nekoupour
    • August 28th, 2007

    Hey John…gonna send you some bucks… I switched, too and now I’m the biggest Apple Fan ;-))

    Greets from Germany [No Girls here😦 ]

  7. another few bucks on the way. keep on the good work!

  8. You guys truly rock! we’re a tenth of the way there!

    • jake
    • August 28th, 2007

    I’m a wee bit strapped for money at the moment too (I’m sure you understand), but I have a second in-person interview with a new company today. I’ll donate some money if I get a job offer and you correct two typos in this phrase in your original post:

    “Or maybe, Papervision3D’s you’re new crack habbit?”

    Hint: one involves a misspelled word and the other involves an apostrophe and an “e”.

    • Steve
    • August 28th, 2007

    DUDE – DONT DO IT!

    Trust me, the mac isn’t worth supporting anyways.

    a little backup from good ole’ maddox: http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=macs_cant

  9. [@ Jake] Thanks Jake! done and done

    Good luck on that interview man, hope you get it!

  10. I saw Keith’s post on it and sent you a few bucks.

  11. Thanks Brian!

    • Russ
    • August 28th, 2007

    Well I am not a big Mac fan, I hate Vista! I regret buying my Dell 6400 with Vista installed. The machine is great, but the OS makes it pretty much worthless as a production machine. So here is some money so you don’t make the same mistake I did.

  12. \m/ Russ – I’ve heard the same story over and over

    Thanks man!! much appreciated!

  13. Hey John, I was going to send you some money but I seem to be the only person on the planet who can’t get payPal to work.

    Are you going to MAX07? I’ll hook you up with a donation there. Or I could give it to Keith Peters to give to you if you think he can be trusted.🙂

  14. [@polyGeek] Hey no worries man, I don’t want to hassle you any further – just the fact you tried is very cool, seriously, thanks for trying man \m/

  15. [@polyGeek] – he it seems to have gone through! thanks man!

  16. I decided that your extremely personable response despite my possibly hubristic comment earlier earns you some money… even if I did say I’d only do it if I got a job offer. I haven’t been to the interview yet, but maybe what goes around comes around.

    Plus, I like Macs.

  17. Tell you what Jake, if it doesn’t pan out, you let me know, I’ll buy you dinner next time we’re in the same town/conference, fair enough?

    • brett
    • August 28th, 2007

    John, I think you’re not charging enough money for your talents if you can’t even buy a computer (which you can write off as a biz expense)… a Flash rockstar shouldn’t have to beg on the street!

  18. [@ Brett] Thanks Brett, yeah, one might think that ;( We just moved to Texas, we’re in an apartment, and I just don’t have extra time to do more hours above and beyond my day job.

    Speaking/teaching/papervision3d/red5/xray all get my extra hours. Ask anyone who’s spent the last 3 yrs trying to get me to do a project for them – they’ll tell you, i’ve said no nearly every time.

    So, all my extra hours I could be making money, I actually put into OSFlash projects and I pay for my own expenses when I speak/teach now that I’m a contractor. So, it gets a bit expensive.

    Thanks for the comments

  19. Don’t let him fool you. It’s the crack habit. And the gambling.

  20. Oh, the gambling!

  21. Hey John don’t know how to do that dude, But for Honesty I want to send you a few bucks, I tried from Paypal but from Brazil seems to not working. Any other idea to send you from here?

  22. [@Igor] No worries man, I appreciate you trying just the same, I don’t want to put you through any more work! The thought is really cool, thanks man!

  23. A few bucks sent through for you dude, kharma++.

  24. \m/ Campbell – thanks man!

  25. I’ve added my donation John, for all the source code and how tos you’ve released its well deserved

  26. [@ Ivan ] \m/\m/\m/

  27. Hope you get the money soon and enjoy your new laptop, even if it’s a Mac😉

    \m/

  28. I got $10 on me, so here it is! I really need to get this working on osx

  29. No need to apologize my friend… It’s my personal philosophy that life isn’t worth living unless you can help others. Just donated and I hope you get the mac book soon!! You won’t regret it! LOL… Peace brother!

    Samuel Agesilas

  30. [@Jarrad and Sam] LOVE YOU GUYS!!

  31. [@ Joachim] LOVE YOU TOO!

  32. It’s not much from me, but I maxed out my paypal account. Good luck John, you’ll hopefully get it in no time.

  33. Money down.

    • John
    • August 29th, 2007

    Awesome. We got you 1/3 of the way there already. Guess we won’t need to resort to auctioning you off at FITC after all. 😉

  34. Oh John, hate to be a kill joy but apparently adobe lic’s arent cross platform. Seeing the comunity is supporting John perhaps Adobe could show some love and hook the man up with some software!!!

  35. I’m not using pv3d at the moment, but somehow I know someday I’ll need it… so here’s my (little) help😉

  36. [@ Campbell] And now that you’ve brought it up – Adobe already has been very helpful with software – VERY cool guys at Adobe who love Papervision3D. The Flash Player and Flash IDE groups are really nice people, and I can’t thank them enough

  37. What’s really cool, is seeing other OS projects contribute – that’s the coolest feeling I swear! \m/

  38. Hey john, sent you a small contribution… Can’t tell you how many times xray has saved my ass! Enjoy your new mac, i know i do!

  39. [@ Bob ] Thanks Bob! I love hearing about Xray stories – I’ll never forget Terry May yelling out at FITC “Xray saved my LIFE!!”…to which I replied “yeah, mine too :)”

  40. I’ll second Bob’s comment. I have to debug my apps running on 3rd party LMS’s and xray is great to see what is happening from the swf’s point of view.

  41. Good luck John, you definitely deserve it, your a huge asset to the Flash community.

  42. Hey John, Me and my students had tons of fun with red5 midi and midisensor board so… buckaroos are coming your way..
    Hope to cu again 1 day, and admire the macbookpro..

  43. [@ Patrick ] Tell your students I said \m/
    🙂 thanks for helping man!

  44. Thanks for all the cool tools, attitude and inspiration over the last several years. Special mention on that banging harmonic solo too! =8)

    \m/ + maximum respect from the Bayinteractive Team.

  45. [@ Alex] – YOU GUYS ROCK ALEX!! Dood…LOVE YOU

    \m/

    PS> glad you liked the harmonic solo (O’Riley)🙂

  46. Yeah, Xray just ROCKS!! There’s been countless of times where Xray has allowed me to quickly debug something that would have taken possibly hours to do without it. For that alone, I figure it’s the least I can do is make a contribution for your Mac.

    Plus Papervision3D is so cool, that all the major contributors should be on the Adobe payroll. However, it’s good to hear that Adobe is supportive with concerns of software.

  47. [@ Matt] \m/ I love hearing Xray stories man, thanks for sharing!

  48. Done and done sir!🙂

  49. Thanks Paulo! \m/ sir!

  50. John, you deserve it for the awesome work you do. Now, how about that jam we were to have … to YYZ.

  51. Randy! YYZ – As long as I can play drums, we can jam to YYZ😉

  52. Happy to throw into the hat on Stamen’s behalf!

    We’ve been banging our heads against the Papervision code-base recently and we’re grateful for the twisted pleasure it’s been🙂

    (We’ll be sure to drop a note to the list when our work is ready)

  53. almost there….its good to see the flash community spirit is alive and well..

    i dont actually use xray, red5 or pv3d but i might do, and when i do, john, remember i’ve already paid for my support😉

  54. thank for putting the fun back into flash!

  55. [@Tom, Martin, Robert] – LOVE YOU! Thanks very much guys!
    \m/

  56. Hey, with Ted’s huge contribution you can upgrade to more RAM!

    • Dominick
    • August 30th, 2007

    John, no longer will you be on the lower end of the pv3d benchmarks😉

  57. hehe, well, not quite. THe next ram upgrade is $700 added to the price for a total of 4gig

    But yeah, I thought about it😉

  58. Nice laptop.. BTW generous people reading this site – I need new tires for my vette $1600.🙂

  59. John, although I’m not a Mac guy, I’m happy for you.

    …Trust me that was heartfelt, had to squeeze that one out, lol. I am happy with how this will positively affect the PV3D project

    • NLking
    • August 30th, 2007

    whoooooohooooooooooooo!!!
    nice work everyone!

    John has contributed a lot to the community, it was time that the community did something back.

  60. nice! you deserve it John! ,thx for all ppl and sorry that i can’t help, sigh….

  61. That’s great, I somehow missed this chance to contribute.

    Thanks for all your great work, it helps thousands of developers everyday, keep it up..

    -abdul

  62. [ @abdul] – Man, it means alot just hearing that – seriously, thank you for that,

    John

    • rctay
    • September 3rd, 2007

    btw, the chinese post was by illey of AsWing, he was telling others who have used or are using your stuff to contribute. The post on the blog is titled “Help John Grden eat apples”🙂

  63. John, now that you have a macbook, tell us your setup environment, are you using TextMate and compiling from the command line, or still using the IDE?

  64. I haven’t gotten it yet, but as soon as I do and get going, I’ll be sure to let you know😉

    • Joe
    • September 18th, 2007

    hi John, congrats on the new Mac Book you totally deserve it!! i’m still having trouble getting Red5 to recognise my midi keyboard ( M-Audio Oxygen 49 ) it works fine on my pc but just doesn’t show up on my Mac Book Pro… does it work on your new mac? any suggestions? I’m making a piano tuition app for my dissertation, this has got so much potential. please help.

    • Nomar
    • November 2nd, 2007

    This is a very thoughtfull idea of getting a MacBook Pro or any other materials that one might need. And speaking of need, I too need a MacBook Pro. Looks like you have a lot of support in here.

Leave a Reply

