Video Demo: Papervision3D CS3 Component 1.5 new features


I usually go back and edit stuff out like coughing, sneezing, phone rings, kids yelling. But this time, this blooper just made me laugh so I left it in there. I end up unplugging the phone and dropping it on the desk (if you’re wondering what the sounds after my pounding the desk are)

This shows how to use an interactive material to setup mouse events for 3D objects. It also covers the new Tools: ActionScript templates and how to generate code for either a class or timeline. Finally, it shows what the new Scene Rotation feature does😉

    • Ruben
    • July 25th, 2007

    Nice Job John. Congratulations!

    • Bart Wttewaall
    • July 25th, 2007

    Well, that explains a lot of questions I had about Collada🙂 Especially about dynamically assigning a texture: just respect the texture’s name.

    Thanks for explaining John!

  1. hahaha that damn phone… nice one buddy…

  2. ha yeah man, I nearly came out of my chair on that one

    then listening back it just cracked me up

    • harry vyvey
    • July 26th, 2007

    I’m getting script errors with he generated code…
    undefined sceneRotation through a reference with static type.org.papervision3d.components.as3.flash9:PV3DColladaScene
    and a couple of more errors on like 49 , 8 en 9… any idea’s?

  3. Get version 1.5.1:

    http://code.google.com/p/papervision3d/downloads/list

    I found that bug 10hrs later when I was recording this demo and posted the fix yesterday

    Sorry about that

    • harry vyvey
    • July 26th, 2007

    hm I actually see that I do have the 1.5.1 build. and I still get those errors. if I don’t add code to the timelike and publish I get 1 error refurring to undefined property sceneRotation through a reference with static type org.papervision3d.components.as3.flash9:PV3DcolladaScene.
    source : scene3d.sceneRotation = (false);
    maybe it’s just me?

  4. Very, very nice!

  5. john this kicks ass, thanks

  6. \m/

    • ken
    • August 1st, 2007

    no matter i installed 1.5 or 1.5.1 , the problem (undefined property sceneRotation through a reference with static type org.papervision3d.components.as3.flash9:PV3DcolladaScene.
    source : scene3d.sceneRotation = (false);
    ) still here, John please help me

    • Vink
    • August 2nd, 2007

    i have this error too, and there is no interactive property on material list like in movie

    • Milosz
    • August 4th, 2007

    Ken try update papervision sources from SVN, in my situation this help

  7. Thanks so much love the demo, your component is wonderful. That copy and paste time load code is brilliant.

  8. I’m also seeing the sceneRotation errors when I’m trying the component. I’m using version 1.5.1.

  9. hi john. im using 1.5.1 component on osx leopard and when i try to load a collada it doesnt show up on stage or when exporting from flash! help!

    1.0 works fine but i need the mouse interactivity for a site im working on. Can you help? This is mega urgent. Also, when will the 2.0 component be released?

    Euan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

