Red5 :: Flex2/AS3 Samples started

SimpleConnector

I’ve just started on some basic sample/reusable code for creating basic applications with Flex/as3 that use Red5. The first, is a Connection class along with a SimpleConnector.mxml to show how to use the Connection class.

SimpleConnector has a textfield for the URI, Red/Green light for connection status and a connect button. There are methods to get the NetConnection object to pass along for any netstreaming you’ll be doing. This zip includes the orignal FLVPlayer code that now uses the SimpleConnector.mxml and Connection class.

We’re still discussing where we’ll put the sample code for Red5, but for now, I’ll post updates here.

Red5Samples.zip

  1. Thank you. πŸ˜‰

  2. perfect! very useful~

    • Chris Clark
    • November 28th, 2006

    I can seem to get the video files to play… Do I have to set them in a spcial folder?

  3. If you have Red5 installed, and you’re connecting to the oflaDemo application, then you should get a listing of the videos in the streams folder. Double check to make sure that there are FLV’s in the oflaDemo/streams folder. If they video’s are not playing, but you hear the audio, then you’ve not attached your netStream to the video object I’m guessing.

    Does that help?

  4. This is great… Exactly what I’ve been looking for. A side note… are you going to have any examples of red5 “live” streaming application demos available in flex?

  5. you could use this sample to subscribe to a broadcasted stream. All you’d have to do is provide the name of the broadcast instead of the FLV.
    πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks John, having only just started with Red5 (I know…I am ashamed to admit :P) and AS3 this will really help me out.

    • Marin
    • June 4th, 2008

    This is everything I need but I can’t use it😦 When will you update it for FLEX 3?

  7. Hi John,

    I am using the latest Red 5 Version v0.8.0 Release Candidate 1

    as well as trying with v0.7.0 Final

    I can get the included demo apps to connect and play but I cannot get your app to connect. I uploaded the FLVPlayer.swf to my demos directory and went to it in my browser. Once i have the URL in I hit connect but the light does not go green. I hit Shift + L but when clicking the buttons nothing happens. I have a feeling I need to be doing more to get this to work but I am not sure what.

  1. September 17th, 2008

Leave a Reply

