Online Papervision3D courses – Optimization techniques

*UPDATE*
Apparently adobe scheduled maintenance this saturday during the scheduled time for the course (which blows tremendously -they could have asked if anyone was doing something during those hours) I guess it could be argued that no time is a good time, but I’d argue back that midnight would be 90% better option I’m willing to bet… Just sayin’

Anyway, we ARE going to reschedule it asap (like in the next week or 2), and RMI is extending the viewable recording of the session to 2 months for the inconvenience to the students. Sorry for the hassle guys

I’m sorry I’m late on announcing this, I’ve been super busy with this current client and trying to get everything else done for the course has just consumed all motor skills and brain cells ;(

I’m taking a break from traveling for a while, so RMI has set me up with some on-line course time and this weekend (saturday), I’m going to pouring over the Winterwonder Land application and talking about optimization techniques for Papervision and the flash Player in general.

In the course files, I’m including nearly all the demo’s I used for the classes I taught in person as well as the source for Winterwonder Land’s animation engine etc.

If you’re interested, you can sign up over at RMI’s site:

http://www.richmediainstitute.com/node/142

Hope to see you there!

    • vic
    • June 20th, 2008

    Could I purchase the class a watch it at a different time or would I have to watch it at the specified time?

  1. you could watch in later on. I just found out, that the class has been post-poned because Adobe is doing maintenance. Kinda frosts my donut though – they could have at least asked or done the maintenance at a time when the server is least likely to be used…

    RMI is extending the viewable time to 2 months now for the inconvenience to the students already signed up

    • Howard
    • July 1st, 2008

    John, I took the class yesterday and it truly was great. Thanks for the 4(plus!) hours. I do have one question with regard to shader materials on a cube though – or rather…I can’t get the shading to work properly. I noticed that your demo in post 83 is a MAX model and not a primitive cube…could the same be done with a primitive and, if so, how? Thanks again.

    • vic
    • July 9th, 2008

    Loved the class! Would I be able to use FrameRipper using a MovieMaterial instead of a MovieAssetMaterial? I want to compile with FB3 with all my movieclips in an exported swc. I’ve recreated the example using FrameRipper and changed the material to MovieMaterial but it doesn’t seem to grab the actual movieclip created in Flash, just an empty movieclip. I know its an empty movie clip because the totalFrames is 0 and the target’s width and height is 0.

    Any help?

  2. @vic: you can use the frarmeripper with any movieclip that has animation. There are limitations, but for the most part that’s true. So, it doesn’t matter if the material is a MovieMaterial or MovieAssetMaterial -

    • Andre Hines
    • September 27th, 2008

    I wasn’t able to watch live, but the archive playback was extremely helpful. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the source files to follow along. Where can i get them?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 793 other followers